Baltimore County Police and Baltimore County school officials responded to a report of assault involving two eighth-grade students at Pikesville Middle School on Wednesday.
According to reports, school officials took a report regarding a 13-year-old boy who kissed a 14-year-old girl during school hours. The unwanted kiss was allegedly the result of a dare made by students.
The boy is now facing a second-degree assault charge as a juvenile. No one was injured during the incident, police say, and disciplinary actions related to suspension or expulsion will be handled by the school system, according to police.
The “Pikesville kiss” has some parents questioning whether punshing a 13-year-old with assault charges is going too far.
“I don’t know if an unwanted kiss is a second-degree assault of a person,” one of the parents of a Pikesville student told WBFF.
Another parent suggested that the students’ parents should have been contacted by the school officials to discuss the matter, prior to contacting the police.
“Then if the parents want to press charges, then there’s nothing else that can be done,” the parent said.
Maryland does not have a minimum age of criminal responsibility, however common law in the US places that age at seven.
In December 2013, six-year-old Hunter Yelton was suspended for kissing a classmate on the hand.
Teachers at Lincoln School of Science and Technology in Colorado took him out of lessons for two days as punishment for ‘sexual harassment’.
This was eventually scaled back to ‘misconduct’, according to KRDO, while his mother said he and the girl were ‘boyfriend and girlfriend’.
Do you think the boy should be charged with second degree assault for kissing the 14-year-old girl on a dare? Do you think the punishisment fits the crime? Let us know what you think of the Pikesville kiss in the comment section below.